Day Seven.

Losing friends is always a hard thing especially when they become like family or an extension of you body, like a third arm. But as humans, our lives grow in different directions and sometimes it is better to just let things fall where they do then try to force something fake out of what might not have been real to begin with. 

I lost my best friend in high school because we gained different priorities. I was focused on graduating and making good grades and that wasn’t something that was important to her at the time. She since has gotten back on track and is doing much better but we still don’t talk. I would be lying if I said that I didn’t miss her friendship every single day. She will always have a special place in my heart and I will always think of her like a sister. 

In recent times, I’ve lost another close friend, again because we gained different priorities in life. I feel like I should be sad about it but I can honestly say that I only feel relieved. Through this journey of trying new experiences and pushing myself to be better than I was yesterday. I can’t let the fear of someone “not liking me” or talking negatively about me inhibit me from becoming the best that version of myself that I can be. I am never going to be perfect, but I am willing to admit to my faults. 

I guess the point is (I think all my posts are starting to end this way) that I don’t have all the answers in life no matter how hard I try to make it seem like I do. Regardless of that, I am still going to put my best foot forward and love everyday. Am I sad I lost a friend, no not really. True friends work things out and see each other through and through. I am thankful for the wonderful people who pick up their phones when they are sleeping, working and driving to make me feel loved and valued. If you’re reading this: I love you, thank you.

 

Image

Leave a Reply

